Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

West Virginians Head to the Polls Today

May 11, 2010
Compiled by Staff

WHEELING - It is primary Election Day in West Virginia, and polls will be open 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. today.

In West Virginia's 1st Congressional District, incumbent U.S. Rep. Alan Mollohan, D-W.Va., faces state Sen. Mike Oliverio, D-Monongalia, for the Democratic nomination to the seat. The nominee will face the winner of the Republican primary in the Nov. 2 general election. The six GOP hopefuls include Cindy Hall, Patricia VanGilder Levenson and David B. McKinley of Wheeling, Sarah Minear and Mac Warner of Morgantown and Thomas Stark of Parkersburg.

Two representatives also will be elected in each local delegate district.

In the 1st District is a Democratic primary among Marilyn S. Boyd, Jerry C. Chaney, Ronnie D. Jones and incumbent Delegate Randy Swartzmiller, D-Hancock.

A Democratic primary in the 2nd District has incumbent Delegates Tim Ennis and Roy Givens, both D-Brooke, facing Calvin Heck and Alan L. Klein.

In the 3rd District, incumbent Delegates Klempa and Tal Hutchins, D-Ohio, are not seeking re-election. Democratic candidates seeking to replace them are Owens Brown, Ryan Ferns, Shawn Lucas Fluharty and Ben Schneider. Republicans seeking the seats are Sam Kasley, Dolph Santorine and Erikka Storch.

Fact Box

Vote Today

Polling locations across West Virginia open at 6:30 a.m. today and close at 7:30 p.m.

In the 4th District is a Democratic primary among incumbent Delegates Mike Ferro and Scott Varner, both D-Marshall, and R.J. Smith.

Voters will elect three members to the board of education from candidates Joe Adams, James Lazear, William Schwertfeger, Carol A. Scurti, Frank Ujcich and Lloyd Van Horn.

A race for three seats on the board of education features Laura Greathouse, Toni Hinerman, Mary Alice Jones and John Manypenny.

Voters will elect three members to the board of education from candidates Steve Latacz, Joseph Komorowski, Roger Lewicki, Beth A. Phillips and Thomas E. Gilbert.

There are municipal races in Benwood, McMechen, Glen Dale and Cameron.

Voters will elect three to the Ohio County Board of Education from candidates Thomas Innocenti, James Jorden, Christine Carder and Shane Mallett.

Current Commissioner Don Mason faces a Democratic challenge from Keith Nelson.

New Martinsville will see contested races for street commissioner and two council seats.

I am looking for: